Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry was established in 1968 and since then offering M. Sc. (with Organic, Inorganic and Physical Specialization), M. Phil and Ph. D. Degrees. Since inception, the department has very active research group working in multidisciplinary areas of chemical sciences. Some of the thrust areas of research activities by the faculty members of the department are Natural Product, Polymer Chemistry, Co-ordination Chemistry, Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Nanomaterials, Semiemperical calculations of inorganic compounds, Catalysis, Supramolecular Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry. Department is also collaborating actively with NEIST, Jorhat and other institutes of national importance. The Department has completed several projects in frontier areas sponsored by DST, ISRO, UGC, GBPIHED etc. and being awarded with FIST-I (2009-2013) by DST, Govt. of India and SAP-DRS (UGC, 2008-2013). It has also established an international collaboration with National Academy of Science, Kyiv, Ukraine under Indo-Ukraine Collaborative research (sponsored by DST, Govt. of India and Ministry of Education & Research, Ukraine) and with Instit de Chimie, University de Neuchatel, Switzerland under Joint Utilisation of Advance Facility scheme of Indo-Swiss Joint Research programme funded By DST & EPFL .The department is equipped with various sophisticated instruments like FT-IR, UV-Vis, TGA-DTA, Cyclic Voltametry, HPLC, GC, GCMS, Surface area analyzer, Impedance analyser, Parallel organic synthesizer etc.

Postgraduate Course

  • M.Sc. in Chemistry
  • M.Phil. in Chemistry
  • Ph. D. in Chemistry
  • Post-Doctoral in Chemistry

Research Scholars


  1. Malabika Bora (CSIR-SRF)
  2. Samadrita Goswami (UGC-RFSMS)
  3. Debajani Boruah (UGC-RFSMS)
  4. Chandan Sarma(UGC-RFSMS)
  5. Dipika Kalita (UGC-RFSMS)
  6. Monaj Mandol (DST Project)
  7. Archana Tairai (UGC Project)
  8. Lekharani Borah (DST-Project)
  9. Manash Boruah (UGC-SPA-DRS)
  10. Alakesh Phukan(UGC-SPA-DRS)
  11. Ankur Gogoi
  12. Biplab Banik
  13. Debajit Sahu
  14. Pallabi Gogoi
  15. Gayatri Sarmah
  16. Nasifa Shahnaz


Postdoctoral Fellow


Dr. Sujata Pramanik

Awarded: DST-SERB National Postdoctoral fellowship (N-PDF) 2016
Project title: Biomimetic preparation of iron oxide based bionanocatalyst using marine waste biomass and its catalytic activity in environmental remediation and organic synthesis
Mentor: Prof. Pankaj Das, HoD, Department of Chemistry, Dibrugarh University



  1. Workshop on “Drug precursors from natural resources” under UGC-SAP (DRS-1)on 29th of March 2011
  2. Celebration of International year of chemistry on 22nd March 2011 (sponsored by UGC)
  3. National seminar on “Recent advances in synthesis and catalysis” during 9-11th of February 2011
  4. National seminar on Recent advances in chemical sciences during 26-27th March 2009
  5. Workshop on Prospect of natural product research in north east India, under UGC-SAP-DRS on 13th March 2009


Contact Us

Head, Department of Chemistry
Dibrugarh University
Assam, India
Phone: 0373-2370210 



Non-Teaching Staff

Dr. Jituranjan Chetia
Sr. Instrument Operator


Upcoming Events

News & Events